Module 5: Instagram

I chose to use Instagram for Module 5.  I had an account briefly previously, but didn’t understand how this worked, so with a bit of a push I’ve been discovering Instagram.

The link to my account: https://www.instagram.com/jacquieh17/

Several of the accounts that I’m following based on recommendations included those that I already “like” on Facebook, which meant as a result I am seeing doubles of those accounts now as many have their Facebook and Instagram accounts linked.  I looked at a couple of videos as to how to use Instagram.  The first was instructing me on a few of the basics including sharing what I’m doing, but not oversharing.  Also to not ask to have others follow you.  It almost seemed to be a tutorial on how to be in with the popular crowd, not completely surprising considering there are other video clips on how to get a certain number of followers in a short amount of time.  I understand how this concept resonates with the middle/high school and university crowd.  In the generation of right now, they can quickly see what people are doing with a quick photo (which only shares so much of the real picture) and are most interested in the number of “likes” and “followers” that they have.  It provides that instant gratification that so many are searching for.

I was struggling to see how this piece of social media could be used in my classroom.  Fortunately I found a YouTube video for suggestions on using Instagram in the classroom.  Although I’m not entirely sure how much I will adopt it for my grade 6/7 classroom next year, as I continue to learn the ins and outs of the app, it will help me make my decision.

For now, here are the suggestions on how to use it in the classroom:

Digital Storytelling – students could choose a picture and write a quick descriptive write, create a story, writing prompts, or do some research

Metaphors – take a photo then using the description area explain why that is a metaphor

Poetry – Teacher posts photos and students create poetry ex. haiku based on photo

Nature Identification – identify different types of clouds, flowers, insects etc

Math – geometry – photograph lines of symmetry, angles, different types of triangles etc

  • create a word problem based on a photograph taken

Showcasing art work

Field trips – document the field trip; photo scavenger hunt

Social Studies – mapping (geo-location is installed in Instagram)

Communication – reading suggestions, reminders for tests

Health & Career – photograph foods that are considered nutritious; food journal;

Science – document change of something ex. an experiment

 

Instagram Original Post:

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 15.12.19

 

As Instagram doesn’t allow you to share someone else’s photo – I retweeted instead:

IMG_5924

 

My response to a post from upperelementaryadventures  on Instagram

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 15.58.29

 

2 thoughts on “Module 5: Instagram

  1. Reblogged this on What Else? 1DR and commented:
    Interested in Instagram? I’ve written about it in Module 5, but here is Jacquie Strom’s ideas or using Instragram in the classroom, including links to Google’s Arts and Culture/Rembrandt. Great ideas– click below to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

